Motorcycle or Bicycle Accident2022-06-05T18:33:29-06:00
Motorcycle or Bicycle Accident

Practice Areas | Motorcycle or Bicycle Accident

MOTORCYCLE OR BICYCLE ACCIDENT ATTORNEY

Schedule a Free Consultation

What Can You Do After Motorcycle or Bicycle Accident

Without a car around you or your family, bicycles seem to be the most vulnerable to accidents. Even on a motorcycle, when it’s you versus anything else, it can be scary to think of the outcomes. If you have been in a motorcycle or bicycle accident, partner with someone who understands Utah/Nevada bike laws as 435 Injured.

Bicycle Law FAQs

Are cyclists allowed to ride on the sidewalk in Utah?2021-10-11T13:19:01-06:00

Yes and no— it depends on where you live. Laws concerning bicycles on sidewalks vary depending on local city ordinances, but there is no statewide ban on it (S1106). For example, Downtown Provo and University of Utah campus have prohibited biking on sidewalks. Other than that, you may ride on the sidewalk but must ride at a slower pace and yield to all pedestrians.

How should cyclists behave with other automobiles on the road?2021-10-11T13:18:36-06:00

Yes, a cyclist must stop at all stop lights, stop signs, and yield pedestrian and give right-of-way as would any motorized automobile. According to Utah law (SS1105) “A bicycle may ride straight through an intersection on the left side of a right-hand turning lane.”

Are hand signals required when riding a bike in Utah?2021-10-11T13:18:18-06:00

Yes, Cyclists must give proper hand signals in order to turn right, left, change lanes, or stop. The following are necessary hang signals in their context:

  1. Left turn—left hand and arm extended horizontally.
  2. Right turn—left arm bent at the elbow with the hand extended upward, or right hand and arm extended horizontally.
  3. Stop or decrease speed—left hand and arm extended downward (§804).
When should I hire a bicycle injury attorney?2021-10-11T13:17:50-06:00

If you have incurred significant medical costs (more than $3,000) and the insurance company isn’t willing to fully reimburse you, you should definitely consult with us as your bicycle injury attorney. Insurance companies will often try to pressure accident victims into making an official statement (You are not required to make one), and settle for less money than the sum of injury costs may turn out to be. If you feel you will continue to require ongoing medical care, an attorney can help establish a much fairer settlement.

My medical bills and expenses from a bicycle accident now exceed my limit for PIP (minimum $3,000), what can I do?2021-10-11T13:16:58-06:00

Once the PIP insurance coverage is exhausted, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will not continue to make payments for your medical costs as you incur them. Instead, they will seek to pay a one-time settlement check for all your damages and losses. Therefore it is crucial at this point that you consult with an experienced accident attorney before making a permanent settlement.

Is there any way I can purchase more insurance besides on initial PIP (Personal Injury Protection)?2021-10-11T13:11:24-06:00

Yes, Uninsured motorist coverage (UM) can be just important as liability coverage. UM pays for your medical expenses and other damages from an accident where the at-fault driver does not have car insurance. UM can be a great benefit to you and your family if you are ever involved in a hit-and-run accident. Talk to your insurance agent to make sure you’re covered.

My bike was stolen, can I be compensated?2021-10-11T13:10:47-06:00

If you own a valuable bicycle, you can often connect your homeowner’s policy to cover the cost in the case of theft. Contact your insurance agent to ask about “Special Personal Property Insurance” if your bike is worth a considerable amount (i.e. $10,000). In some policies, you can recover stolen items even if they were stolen from a location other than a house. Other less-valued items in your house are already covered under a standard homeowner’s or renter’s insurance.

What if I was involved in a hit-and-run, or the at-fault driver doesn’t have auto insurance?2021-10-11T13:08:23-06:00

If the at-fault driver cannot be located, you will still be able to make a claim for damages under the UM (uninsured motorist) coverage of your own automobile policy. In this case, it is crucial that you already carry UM insurance at the time of the accident, which applies to both car and bicycle accidents. If you do not hold UM coverage, you can often make a PIP (Personal Injury Protection) claim under your own personal car insurance policy. PIP coverage comes standard with all car insurance policies at a minimum of $3,000 of payout (although coverage of $5,000, $10,000, and even $100,000 can be purchased) to pay for your primary medical costs.

Am I insured when I am riding my bicycle and get in an accident?2021-10-11T13:07:44-06:00

If you ride bicycles in Utah, you should accompany it with car insurance. It helps cover bicycle accident costs, including damages, lost wages, and medical bills. Talk to your insurance agent about your coverage and if it is sufficient.

Do you know the law?2021-10-11T13:06:15-06:00

“Bicycle” Defined

  1. A “bicycle” is defined as a wheeled vehicle propelled by human power; by feet or hands acting upon pedals or cranks. It also contains a seat or saddle, designed to be used on the ground for the use of the operator. Wheels must be greater than 14 inches in diameter to be considered a bicycle.   “Bicycle” also includes an electric-assisted bicycle, but not scooters and similar devices.
  2. “Electric-assisted bicycle” means a moped powered solely by the electric motor, has fully operable pedals on permanently affixed cranks, and weighs less than 75 pounds  (41-6a-102).

General Rule: Bicycles Subject to Vehicle Laws

  1. A bicycle is considered a vehicle, and with a few exceptions, a cyclist has the same rights and obligations as the operator of any other vehicle (§1102).  This includes obeying traffic signals (§305), stop and yield signs (§902), and all other official traffic control devices (§208).

Direction of Traffic

  1. A bicycle must ride with the flow or direction of traffic, the same as other automobiles (§1105).

 Shoulder/Bicycle Lane Travel

  1. If the bicycle is traveling slower than the flow of traffic, a cyclist must ride as close to the right-hand edge of the roadway as is practical, except in cases of:
  2. Passing another bicycle or vehicle;
  3. Preparing to make a left turn;
  4. Riding straight through an intersection just to the left of vehicles turning right; or
  5. Necessarily avoiding unsafe conditions along the right-hand edge of the road such as fixed or moving objects, parked or moving vehicles, other bicycles, or pedestrians
  6. If a useable pathway alongside the road is available, a traffic-control device may direct bicyclers to use it and not the road (§1105).

 No More than 2 Bicycles Wide

  1. No more than two cyclists may ride side by side. While doing so, they may not impede the normal flow of traffic.  If traffic is impeded, single file rules must be followed (§1105.3).

3-foot Rule / Rules for Motorists Passing Cyclists:

  1. “Motorists may not pass within 3 feet of a moving bicycle (Sec. 706.5);
  2. When passing a cyclist, a driver is allowed to cross the center line, if necessary, to provide adequate space and distance to the cyclist, provided the pass can be made safely (e.g., such a pass may not be made within 100 feet of an intersection or when approaching a curve in the road that obstructs the motorist’s view) (Sec. 701).”

Sidewalk Riding

  1. A cyclist may not ride on a sidewalk, path, or trail, or across a crosswalk when prohibited by city or county ordinances (in some cities, only certain streets/areas are prohibited).  Many cities along the Wasatch Front have ordinances in place which prohibit bicycle riding on sidewalks.  If riding on the sidewalk is allowed, the cyclist must yield to pedestrians; no cyclist can overtake or pass a pedestrian without first giving an audible signal.  They cannot ride in a careless manner that may cause them to collide with a pedestrian, another bicycle, or a vehicle (§1106).

 Intersection Procedures

  1. Remember: a bicycle has the same rights and obligations as any vehicle at an intersection.  The following rules apply to motorists and cyclists alike:
    1. If there is no traffic light (or the traffic light is not working), any driver/cyclist approaching the intersection white line must yield the right-of-way to other drivers/cyclists already at the intersection, no matter the direction from which they are coming.
    2. If two vehicles arrive simultaneously at an intersection, and there is no traffic light signal, the vehicle on the left must yield the right-of-way to the vehicle on the right.
    3. If the roadway does not continue through the intersection, the vehicle must yield the right-of-way to the intersecting highway.
    4. A vehicle on a road that is not paved yields the right-of-way to the vehicle on a paved road.
    5. A vehicle must stop, when directed by a traffic light or stop sign, before the designated white stop line (unless otherwise directed by a police officer).
    6. When approaching a stop sign, a vehicle must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians at an adjacent crosswalk.
    7. A bicycle may ride straight through an intersection on the left side of a right-hand turning lane.
    8. A left-turning vehicle at an intersection yields the right-of-way to oncoming traffic (§901/902/1105).

 Left Turns

  1. a)   If a left turn is necessary, a cyclist has two options:
    1. Use the left-hand turn lane designated for vehicles; or
    2. Stay on the right-hand side of the roadway, ride through the intersection to the opposite side, stop, and wait for light to change.  Then, going in a new direction, cross the street with the flow of traffic (§801/1108).

Stop Lights/Signs and Non-responsive Signals

  1. Cyclists must obey all traffic lights, stop and yield signs, and must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians at an adjacent crosswalk (Sec. 305/902);
  2. If a cyclist age 16 or older comes to a complete stop at a red light, and the traffic signal does not detect his/her presence after waiting for 90 seconds or more, the cyclist may cautiously proceed through the intersection, as long as no other vehicles or pedestrians with the right-of-way are in or near the intersection (Sec. 305).  (Note: This law was recently added by the Utah legislature for a “testing period,” and will expire on July 1, 2014, unless the legislature extends the law.)”

 Hand Signals

  1. Cyclists must give proper hand signals to turn right, turn left, change lanes, or stop.
  2. The hand signal must be executed at least two seconds before the maneuver, but the cyclist does not need to maintain a continuous signal if his/her hand is needed for safety purposes.
  3. The proper hand signals are:
    1. Left turn—left hand and arm extended horizontally;
    2. Right turn—left hand and arm extended upward or right hand and arm extended horizontally;
    3. Stop or decrease speed—left hand and arm extended downward (§804);
  4. Once stopped in a designated turn lane, cyclists are not required to signal again before turning (§1109).

Passing on the Right

  1. “Cyclists are allowed to utilize the shoulder of the roadway in order to pass a vehicle on the right – provided that the move can be made with safety.”

 Crosswalks

  1. Although commonly misunderstood, walking your bicycle through a crosswalk is not required by law.  However, walking a bicycle through a crosswalk may be a safe way to cross the street.  The law states that a cyclist may not ride at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the existing conditions, while paying attention to any potential hazards (§1106.4).

 Bicycle Racing Prohibited

  1. Never race bicycles on roads unless authorized by state or county officials (§1111).

 Both Hands on Handlebars

  1. All cyclists must have at least one hand on the handlebars at all times.  In addition, a cyclist is not permitted to carry packages, packs, bundles, or any other article that prevents him/her from keeping both hands on the handle bars (§1112).

 Number of persons allowed on bicycle

  1. A bicycle may only carry the number of persons for which it is designed.  Single-rider bicycles are not permitted to carry more than one person (§1103).

 Bicycles and Moving Vehicles

  1. A cyclist may never be attached to a moving motorized vehicle (§1104).

 Parking Bicycles

  1. A person may park his/her bicycle on a sidewalk as long as it is not prohibited by a traffic-control device and does not impede normal flow of pedestrian traffic.
  2. A person may park his/her bicycle in the roadway anywhere parking is allowed as long as it is parked within 12 inches of the curb and does not block any other legally parked vehicles (§1107/1402).

Reflectors and Lights

  1. Bicycles are required to be equipped with a white headlight, a red tail light or reflector, and side reflectors, all visible from 500 feet.  Lights must be turned on a half hour after sunset and kept on until a half hour before sunrise (§1114/1603).

Whistles and Sirens

  1. Bicycles may not be equipped with a whistle or a siren (§1113).
  1. Bicycles must have proper, functioning brakes.  The brakes must have the capacity to stop the bicycle within 25 feet traveling at a speed of 10 miles per hour (§1113).

[1] This law can be found under Title 41, Chapter 6a, Section 102 of the Utah Code Each of of the laws cited in this chapter can be found under Title 41, Chapter 6a, thus, only the references are provided.  If you would like to read the laws in their entirety, visit the official website of the Utah State Legislature: http://le.utah.gov/UtahCode/section.jsp?code=41-6a

What Should I Do If I Have Been Involved in a Motorcycle or Bicycle Accident and Injured By Someone Else?

  • DO NOT admit fault: be sure to acquire as much evidence as you can and don’t make any statements of guilt.
  • Call 911: if you are hurt, don’t hesitate to seek medical attention. Make sure you are honest and accurate with the Police, they can be your best ally in your case. Sometimes the at-fault party can change their story, but a police report carries a significant weight in establishing your credibility.
  • Find Eye Witnesses: to further back up your story, other onlookers often provide necessary details and corroboration.
  • Take pictures: Photograph both your bicycle and the at-fault car, your injuries, and anything pertaining to the accident.
  • Gather and Record all Details: License Plates, VIN number, make and model of the car can greatly help your case. Physical characteristics of the driver, and information about the time, location, and any other people involved are other valuable details to have.

Not Sure if You Have A Case?

To begin your free consultation, please fill out the form below, or call us at 435-INJURED (465-8733). We will review the information and you will be contacted shortly.

Not Sure if You Have A Case?

To begin your free consultation, please fill out the form below, or call us at 435-INJURED (465-8733). We will review the information and you will be contacted shortly.

Disclaimer:

The information found on this site is meant to be informational. It is always important to contact a personal injury attorney as there are multiple variables that may make your case differ from the advice given here. In the event the case is lost, you may be responsible for the opposing parties fees & costs.

1361 E Red Hills Pkwy., Ste B2
St. George UT 84770

Call 435-INJURED

Disclaimer:

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur.

Contact

About

Testimonials

FAQs

135 N. 900 E.

St. George, UT 84770

Call 435-INJURED
Go to Top